It is in force in 28 places. It was submitted to the people four times in Fredericton, N.B., and carried on each occasion. Westmoreland voted on it five times and carried it each time. Charlottetown voted on it six times, carried it three times, rejected it the fourth, adopted it the fifth and rejected it on the sixth occasion. Lambton voted on it four times, carrying it the first time, defeating it the second, carrying it the third and defeating it the fourth. Halton carried it on the first and second voting but rejected it on the third. Stanstead sandwiched a carry between two rejections, St. John City defeated it on the two occasions it has had the opportunity to vote on the Act.

The Act has been submitted to public opinion in nine cities and 73 counties. It is in force in one city and 27 counties.

The following is a summary:

Carried	five times and	still in force.							. 3	 	 	 		•	1
11	four	II .		٠.						 	 				1
*1	three	n	٠.							 ٠.		 	٠.		0
11	twice	11									 	 			4
10	once	11		٠.							 			. 1	22
Defeated the first time and not submitted again															

Richmond county, P.Q., is under the old Dunkin Act, but an election was held in 1888 on petition to repeal that Act. It resulted in the defeat of the petition.

The following statement gives the places in which the Canada Temper-

ance Act was in force on June 1, 1901:-

Nova Scotia.	New Brunswick.	Prince Edward Island.	Quebec.	Manitoba.
Annapolis. Cape Breton. Cumberland. Digby. Guysborough. Hants. Inverness. King's. Pictou. Queen's. Shelburne. Yarmouth.	Albert. Carleton. Charlotte. Fredericton. King's. Northumberland. Queen's. Sunbury. Westmoreland. York.	King's. Queen's. Prince.	Richmond.	Lisgar. Marquette.

In the province of Ontario and British Columbia the Act is nowhere in force.